Directors & Officers


  • Heidi Bohaker, Associate Professor University of Toronto, History Department
  • Bevan Brooksbank, Borden Ladner Gervais
  • Shantona Chaudhury, Pape Barristers
  • David Chernos, Chernos Flaherty Svonkin LLP
  • Michael Fenrick, Paliare Roland Rosenberg Rothstein LLP
  • Timothy Hill,  Assistant Crown Attorney
  • Ian Hull, Hull & Hull
  • Trisha Jackson, Tory’s LLP
  • Mahmud Jamal, Osler Hoskin & Harcourt LLP
  • M. Virginia MacLean, Q.C.
  • Rachel McMillan, Gowling WLG
  • The Hon. R. Roy McMurtry
  • Caroline Mulroney ex officio, Attorney General for Ontario
  • Dana Peebles, McCarthy Tetrault
  • The Hon. Paul Reinhardt
  • William Ross, WeirFoulds LLP
  • The Hon. Paul Schabas
  • The Hon. Robert Sharpe, President
  • Jon Silver, Torys LLP
  • Linda Silver Dranoff, Dranoff and Huddart
  • Alexander Smith, Henein Hutchison, LLP
  • The Hon. Lorne Sossin
  • Mary Stokes, Legge and Legge
  • The Hon. Michael Tulloch

Honorary Directors

  • Tom Bastedo
  • The Hon. Colin McKinnon


  • President, The Hon. Robert Sharpe
  • Editor-in-Chief, Professor Jim Phillips, M.A., Ph.D., LL.B.
  • Associate Editor, Professor Philip Girard, B.A., LL.B., LL.M., Ph.D.
  • Treasurer, William Ross, WeirFoulds, LLP
  • Oral History Co-Ordinator, Patricia McMahon, B.A., Ph.D (Hist), LL.B, LL.M, S.J.D.
  • Administrator, Amanda Campbell
  • Counsel, Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP

Robert J. Sharpe

President of the Osgoode Society

Read More

The Hon R. Roy McMurtry

"I shall always be gratified that I had the opportunity to create the Osgoode Society in 1979 when I was the Attorney-General for Ontario. I had long been concerned about the lack of recorded legal history in Canada and the fact that most of it was simply being lost in the mists of time. I am enormously proud of what has been accomplished by our distinguished authors and editors in chiefs, the late Peter Oliver and Professor Jim Phillips. I am very pleased to be able to continue to be associated with the Osgoode Society."
- The Hon R. Roy McMurtry

Read More

The Hon Michael Tulloch

I have been a member of the Osgoode Society for Canadian Legal History since my second year at Osgoode HAll Law School...Since then, I have been enriched by this organization and its excellent and diverse legal historical publications. Overall, I find the Osgoode Society to be one of the most consistently relevant organiations to the Canadian Legal Profession - The Hon Michael Tulloch, Judge of the Ontario Court of Appeal, Director of the Osgoode Society

R. Roy McMurtry, Marilyn MacFarlane and Jim Phillips

At the Osgoode Society's 30'th Anniversary Celebration.